5 new faces in England’s pre-tour coaching squad


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Charlie Atkinson playing for Wasps
Wasps’ 20-year-old fly-half Charlie Atkinson is known as within the coaching squad

England head coach Eddie Jones has named 5 new gamers in a 35-man squad that can practice collectively earlier than the tour of Australia in July.

Wasps prop Biyi Alo, fly-half Charlie Atkinson, Gloucester flanker Freddie Clarke, Bristol again row Sam Jeffries and Exeter prop Patrick Schickerling are all included for the primary time.

There are 16 uncapped names, with skilled gamers concerned within the Premiership semi-finals not out there.

Wings Jonny Might and Jack Nowell return.

Might has spent 5 months out with a knee problem whereas Nowell broke his arm throughout England’s Six Nations defeat towards France in March.

The three-day coaching camp is the second time in as many months Jones has referred to as in a big contingent of uncapped gamers, having named 10 in a squad in May, as he assesses his choices earlier than the 2023 World Cup.

England play the Barbarians on 19 June adopted by Checks towards the Wallabies in Perth, Brisbane and Sydney on successive weekends starting on 2 July.

Jones’ aspect beat Australia at Twickenham in November however then produced a disappointing Six Nations marketing campaign throughout which they had been defeated thrice.

England’s head coach mentioned the unavailability of gamers from Premiership semi-finalists Leicester, Saracens, Harlequins and Northampton introduced “the chance to name up some new gamers”.

“It is an amazing alternative to find out about them and see what potential they should play a component within the Australia tour,” he continued.

England coaching squad

Ahead: Biyi Alo (Wasps, uncapped), Alfie Barbeary (Wasps, uncapped), Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons), Freddie Clarke (Gloucester, uncapped), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons), Charlie Ewels (Bathtub), Will Goodrick-Clarke (London Irish, uncapped), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), Sam Jeffries (Bristol Bears, uncapped), George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped), Tom Pearson (London Irish, uncapped), Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks), Patrick Schickerling (Exeter Chiefs, uncapped), Jack Singleton (Gloucester), Will Stuart (Bathtub), Sam Underhill (Bathtub), Jack Willis (Wasps).

Backs: Henry Arundell (London Irish, uncapped), Charlie Atkinson (Wasps, uncapped), Mark Atkinson (Gloucester), Orlando Bailey (Bathtub, uncapped), Joe Cokanasiga (Bathtub), Ollie Hassell-Collins (London Irish, uncapped), Will Joseph (London Irish, uncapped), Jonny Might (Gloucester), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Paolo Odogwu (Wasps, uncapped), Max Ojomoh (Bathtub, uncapped), Tom Parton (London Irish, uncapped), Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons), Harry Randall (Bristol Bears), Dan Robson (Wasps).

Banner Image Reading Around the BBC - BlueFooter - Blue

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.