Roma win inaugural Europa Convention League


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Roma's Nicolo Zaniolo scores against Feyenoord in the Europa Conference League final
This was Roma’s first trophy for 14 years

Roma gained their first main European trophy by beating Feyenoord within the inaugural Europa Convention League closing.

The Italians ensured Jose Mourinho’s first season in cost ended with a trophy after Nicolo Zaniolo chested down Gianluca Mancini’s lofted move earlier than beating goakeeper Justin Bijlow with a intelligent flick.

Mourinho, who has gained the Champions League, Europa League and the Uefa Cup, is the primary supervisor to win all of Uefa’s main European trophies.

The Portuguese was criticised after Roma have been embarrassed 6-1 in Norway by Bodo/Glimt within the group stage final October.

However this win continued the previous Chelsea and Manchester United supervisor’s excellent report in European finals, having now overseen 5 wins in 5 finals.

Feyenoord, whose marketing campaign began within the qualifying rounds again in July, have been denied an equaliser when Rui Patricio tipped Tyrell Malacia’s try on to the bar quickly after Mancini inadvertently hit his personal put up whereas making an attempt to make a clearance.

Extra to observe.



Formation 3-4-1-2

  • 1Rui PatrícioBooked at 84mins
  • 23Mancini
  • 6Smalling
  • 3Ibañez da Silva
  • 2KarsdorpSubstituted forViñaat 89′minutes
  • 77MkhitaryanSubstituted forOliveiraat 17′minutes
  • 4Cristante
  • 59ZalewskiBooked at 66minsSubstituted forSpinazzolaat 67′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 7PellegriniBooked at 37mins
  • 22ZanioloSubstituted forVeretoutat 67′minutes
  • 9AbrahamSubstituted forShomurodovat 89′minutes


  • 5Viña
  • 11Pérez
  • 14Shomurodov
  • 15Maitland-Niles
  • 17Veretout
  • 24Kumbulla
  • 27Oliveira
  • 37Spinazzola
  • 52Bove
  • 64Afena-Gyan
  • 87Cerântula Fuzato
  • 92El Shaarawy


Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Bijlow
  • 3Geertruida
  • 18TraunerBooked at 25minsSubstituted forPedersenat 74′minutes
  • 4Senesi
  • 5MalaciaSubstituted forJahanbakhshat 89′minutes
  • 17Aursnes
  • 10KökçüSubstituted forWålemarkat 88′minutes
  • 14NelsonSubstituted forLinssenat 74′minutes
  • 26TilSubstituted forToornstraat 59′minutes
  • 7Sinisterra
  • 33Dessers


  • 2Pedersen
  • 6Hendrix
  • 9Jahanbakhsh
  • 11Linssen
  • 13Sandler
  • 16Cojocaru
  • 21Marciano
  • 23Wålemark
  • 25Hendriks
  • 28Toornstra
  • 30Jansen
  • 32Corridor

Dwell Textual content

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.